top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrian Rhodes

April 8, 2018: Summerland to Faulder

Said goodbye to Cindy and began my uphill 7km to the trailhead. I had all day for this section so I was taking it slow and enjoying the 4C (later 12C) and the views. Also, the trailside information was quite interesting, especially the one about Sam McGee from Tennessee. The trail doesn't use the Kettle Valley Railway until kilometre 17 because it's still in use; however, the trail does use an old irrigation ditch beside the tracks, so it's relatively flat. I consider this 10km to Faulder the best trail so far, really beautiful. At Faulder I tried to go further west but alas, there was more snow awaiting, so I turned back. 19km today. I may tackle the remaining 86km to Princeton by bicycle in May. On a side note, I purchased a better-fitting backpack, an Osprey Stratos 34. The amazing thing about this pack is that when I tighten the hip belt, the weight seems to magically disappear from the shoulder straps! Nifty. Oh, and finally: there's no cell service after Faulder, at least not for my Rogers iPhone.










25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page