top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrian Rhodes

June 5, 2018: Beaverdell south

I'm at the stage in this endeavour that I'm trying to 'fill in the blanks/connect the dots' on a continuous 225km from west of Summerland all the way to Rock Creek. So, I travelled down to Beaverdell to continue this quest. The TCT begins there on a road but then goes to single track and then to a typical ATV trail. I always thought the Kettle River was just a meandering river going south, but not so: the white water area 20km south of Beaverdell showed otherwise. On my hitch-hike back to town, I was soon picked up by a lovely LDS couple who actually had to rearrange the boxes in their back seat to accommodate me; they told me they were off to Lithuania for their next mission... I thought that I was somehow going to be their next mission! Ha! Anyway, I have planned the next four hikes or so to finish off the Okanagan section of the KVR to be completed by the end of June. After that, it looks like there'll be some overnight camping to get some more miles in... oh, and if you're planning on hiking or biking this section, be aware that several washouts will hinder your travels... finally, a note on the bugs: the mosquitoes were fewer in number here, but larger than up at Chute Lake, and the Monarch butterflies were curious to check out my TCT badge on my hat as I hiked along, as it must have looked like a flower to them.








18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page